RSS

Blackout- John Rocco

08 Oct

Surprises can occur when the lights go out

In the city, everyone is distracted. Parents play on the computer and siblings chat on the phone, but no one talks to each other and everyone is too busy to spend time together.  In this stunningly illustrated book, Rocco beautifully details the enjoyable time a family can share with one another when an unexpected blackout occurs.

The family takes a trip to the roof, where the stars shine brightly in the sky and back to the street where melting ice cream is handed out freely to children who dance in the street.  From creating shadow puppets with a flashlight to playing board games by candlelight, this rare blackout turns into a fun night.  Blackout shows that a great time can be had by all when spent with family.

Recommended for readers age 4-7. *Caldecott Honor Book

 
6 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2012 in Book Review, Books

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Blackout- John Rocco

  1. Russ

    October 10, 2012 at 2:24 pm

    Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll
    be bookmarking and checking back often!

     
  2. Tom Brady Youth Jersey

    October 11, 2012 at 10:00 pm

    Thanks on your marvelous posting! I certainly enjoyed reading it, you happen to be
    a great author.I will always bookmark your blog and will often come back
    down the road. I want to encourage that you continue your great work, have a
    nice morning!

     
  3. baseballvalbooks

    October 14, 2012 at 7:38 pm

    Thank you for the compliment.

     
  4. Avery

    December 24, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    Hi everyone, it’s my first visit at this web site, and post is really fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these posts.

     
  5. should i get back with my ex husband

    May 18, 2013 at 4:34 am

    Very nice write-up. I absolutely appreciate this
    site. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
