RSS

My thoughts on the Fifty Shades Trilogy

11 Sep

So I was at work the other day, and a few of my coworkers were discussing the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy. Some had read them, others were starting, and a few had not.

Yes, I have read them, one a day for three days. As agreed by a majority of bloggers and reviewers, yes I concur the writing itself is amateur at best. At some times the writing and dialogue was so repetitive, I wanted nothing more than to dive into a thesaurus or take a sharpie and edit myself. All that being said, I actually rather enjoyed the story.

Take away the fantasy virgin and the billionaire and you are left with the relationship between the main characters Christian Grey and Anastasia Steele, and the myriad of emotions and countless trials they faced that is far more stimulating than the sex scenes themselves. Opening up the reader to think about their own relationships and creating a path for discussion and exploration.

As far as erotica, yes there was sex and the elevator, but my imagination and I am sure countless others have a greater imagination. Maybe, it was the controversy surrounding the books that brought readers to E.L. James, or the Twilight fans, but either way the success of Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy cannot be ignored.

If you are looking for superior award winning writing, amazing sex scenes, and realism, you will not find it here. But if you are looking for a decent romance with some steamy sex and a mild mystery, then the trilogy will meet your expectations and hopefully open your mind to exploring some fantasies of your own.

Some better reading I would suggest for their overall quality, including plot and sexual content…

Kushiel’s Legacy series by Jacqueline Carey

The Sleeping Beauty Trilogy by Anne Rice

The Outlander series by Diana Gabaldon

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 11, 2012 in Book Review, Books, Random

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “My thoughts on the Fifty Shades Trilogy

  1. best food for dogs

    September 12, 2012 at 6:16 pm

    I feel that is one of the such a lot significant information for me. And i am satisfied studying your article. However wanna statement on some general issues, The site style is perfect, the articles is in reality great : D. Just right activity, cheers

     

Leave a Reply

 
